March 9, 2008

The Spine

Filed under: — Peter Laws @ 2:11 am

The spinal column (or vertebral column) extends from the skull to the pelvis and is made up of 33 individual bones termed vertebrae. The vertebrae are stacked on top of each other group into four regions:

The Spine

Term # of Vertebrae Body Area Abbreviation
Cervical 7 Neck C1 – C7
Thoracic 12 Chest T1 – T12
Lumbar 5 or 6 Low Back L1 – L5
Sacrum 5 (fused) Pelvis S1 – S5
Coccyx 3 Tailbone None

The cervical spine is further divided into two parts; the upper cervical region (C1 and C2), and the lower cervical region (C3 through C7). C1 is termed the Atlas and C2 the Axis. The Occiput (CO), also known as the Occipital Bone, is a flat bone that forms the back of the head.

Be Sociable, Share!

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.